When You’re Here, You’re Pamilya – My Filipina Life

A recurring love-hate moment of my life is when I meet new people and their first question is.. “so… what kind of Asian are you?” I always play along because I’m curious to hear their guesses (usually Chinese, Korean, & Thai.. wrong, wrong, & wrong), but sometimes it gets pretty obnoxious. I can totes relate to this video, haha:

At first glance, most are surprised to learn that I am full Filipina and not mixed with anything else. But if you get to know me, it all makes sense. I very proud to be Filipina because I love embracing the values (and food!) of my culture, like family, generosity & celebration!

For us Filipino kiddos, we are instructed to call anyone around our parents’ age Β “auntie” or “uncle,” even if they’re not blood related. Aside from a way to get us to respect our elders, it shows that they see others in our community as brothers and sisters; we treat everyone like family.

Anyone who enters my home will be offered a meal and anyone who is troubled will find comfort and often a solution. Beyond this, we’re also in a constant state of celebration; from weddings to birthdays and baby showers (& a lot of times, just because), there is always a party with tray after aluminum tray of good food, and probably some music (& line dancing, lol!).

I love these gems of my culture and try my best to continue these traditions. At the same time, I Β value learning about different cultures, especially new food, of course! Β One way I do this is by exploring fusion food recipes.

My good friend Chef AC Boral with So Good & Delicious Food graciously offered to teach us his culinary expertise for the last full episode of Dining At Tiffany’s Season 1 – What We Crave. And trust.. you will crave this Tocino Breakfast Sandwich on Garlic Bread.

^^^Click photo for the recipe & the story of how we met!^^

Remember that egg yolk explosion from my trailer? Well now, you can make that dream come true in your own kitchen (click our photo below to watch!):

^^Click photo to watch on YouTube! #yolkSPLOSION!^^

Season 1 of Dining At Tiffany’s, and thus a new chapter of my life has been quite the ride. I’m doing something a little special for the season finale to thank everyone who’s been so down to support me in various ways, so stay tuned for next week’s variety show!

Putting myself out there on YouTube and the life-balancing act that comes with it has been quite the challenge, but it’s one of the best decisions I’ve made in my life. I hope you all learned something helpful, or at least cracked a smile (or egg?) because of my videos! More to come for Season 2!

With lots of love,

Tiffany R.

Dining At Tiffany’s

Leave a Reply

