Unemployment/College Cooking – DAT Rotisserie Life Part 1

Trying to make it in my mid-20s, the struggle is real. Okay, it’s not so bad (I’m actually having a lot of fun!), but working in nonprofit/education has taught me the value of getting the most bang for my buck, especially with food!

I will very rarely succumb to instant noodles, though I’ve lived through unemployment, lower paying jobs, and the not-so-glamorous college kid life; Stouffers lasagna yes (because why not?), but never the ramen or cup of noodles. I believe with a bit of crafty resourcefulness, you can make food for you and your equally hungry friends on a budget that is rich in flavor, easy on the wallet. One of my favorite meals to make for my friends while we’re on the hustle is Buffalo Chicken Salad. Here’s the video tutorial:

089C0177

^Click picture to watch!^

For those of you who’ve been to my place in real life, you know I always cut the small talk; we’re busy — no time for that! I will often find out very quickly what you’re about, and what you want to be about! I love helping others chase their dreams, so I’m recreating that  here on my website. You can find my guides on resumes, cover letters, and finding your passion here on my website since that is one of my favorite topics for Good Conversation!

Recipe: Buffalo Chicken Salad

Ingredients: 

Buffalo Chicken
– half of a Rotisserie Chicken, the breast and leg
– ¼ cup Louisiana red hot sauce (or more if you want it hotter!
– 2-3 tablespoons of butter. oh yes.
– 4-5 cloves of roughly chopped garlic
– freshly ground black pepper

Salad
– 2 bunches of romaine or green leaf lettuce chopped into about 1 inch pieces
– 3 carrots, chopped or shredded into small 1 centimeter cubes
– 3 pieces of celery chopped into 1 centimeter cubes, plus chopped celery top greens

Ranch
– 1 cup of sour cream
– 1 tablespoon vinegar (white, apple cider, and cane have worked for me!)
– 1/2 tablespoon garlic powder
– a bit of fresh chopped parsley
– salt to taste

Instructions:

1. Prep your veggies!
– chop lettuce, carrots, and celery & put in separate bowls
– chop garlic and set aside

2. Buffalo Chicken, yayy!
– Pull off one breast and one leg from the Rotisserie chicken & shred into bite-sized pieces. Set aside.
– Add butter and garlic to a medium bowl. Cover and microwave for 1 minute.
– Carefully discard garlic pieces
– Slap in that hot sauce. Mmmmm.
– Stir together, add chicken, and coat it in all that buffalo sauce goodness you just made! Good job!

3. Meanwhile, make ranch!
– mix sour cream, vinegar, garlic powder, and salt together. Add parsley. Done son!

4. Time to eat!
– Plate in this order: lettuce, celery/carrots, chicken, ranch!
– Enjoy! I recommend storing the chicken leftovers separate from the veggies and ranch so it lasts longer in the fridge.

Let me know how it goes @diningattiffs #diningattiffs! Stay tuned next week to learn how I use the other half of the chicken!

With love,

Tiffany R.

Dining At Tiffany’s

Leave a Reply

