Make it a Great Day (Networking & Garlic Pasta Carbonara)

“Make it a Great Day.”

In preparation for a professional conference this weekend, I ordered my very first set of business cards!

Aren’t they spiffy? 😀

I wanted to support a local business in my new city, so I ordered from Hungry Dog Printing in Long Beach, CA. This printing company is very professional, affordable, and high-quality. I highly recommend their services!

The owner Kate is very friendly and seemed genuinely excited about making my business cards look good. Unknowingly, she even played a role in uplifting my mood after a difficult few months. At the end of their jolly voicemail greeting, Kate encourages her customers to “Make it a great day!” This phrase really resonated with me and made me reflect on my attitude. We’re always told to “have a great day,” but sometimes we need to be reminded that a positive outlook can make all the difference; often times, it’s up to us if we’re going to make it a great day or not. Thank you for my awesome business cards and the encouragement, Hungry Dog Printing!

#WRCSAD13

The conference I attended was the Western Regional Careers in Student Affairs Day. I had a great day mingling with and learning from higher education professionals and fellow students. Serving on the volunteer planning committee was a fun experience as well. Worked with some fantastic people!

For the undergraduates I spoke with that are applying for graduate programs, here are helpful posts I mentioned that can help with your career:

Grad School Application Requirements Template
– Tiffany’s Résumé Guide
– Cover Letters & Attraction are Kind of the Same

You can also ask me any questions about the SDHE program at CSULB!

After the conference, I co-organized a post-conference social at my new favorite spot in Long Beach – the Rebel Bite. Isn’t their “Map Room” amazing? I also feel the same way about my wonderful classmates, new friends, and inspiring NASPA Region 6 leaders.

“Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world.” – Nelson Mandela 

Garlic Pasta Carbonara 

The night before the conference, my grad student friends stayed over, so I had the chance to make them dinner! Here’s a recipe for one of the dishes I cooked. Hope you enjoyed #DiningAtTiffs !

Follow me on Instagram @diningattiffs!

(makes 8 servings, even though there were only three of us…)

Ingredients:
– 1/2 to 1lb of bacon (depending on how much you like meat) sliced into 1/2 inch pieces
– 3 cloves of garlic, crushed and minced
– 4 eggs
– 1/2 cup grated parmesan/romano cheese
– 1 cup frozen peas & carrots (or any other veggie medley)
– 1 lb. box of pasta (I used whole wheat – you should too!)
– pepper (no salt needed; bacon is salty enough, friends!)

Instructions:
I broke the steps down into what’s happening on your stove and what’s happening on your counter. Follow the numbers to time it for maximum efficiency.

On your stove 
2.) Boil water for pasta & cook according to package directions.
3.) Sauté bacon on medium-high heat for 5 minutes
5.) Once meat is cooked, lower heat to medium and add garlic. Sauté until light brown.
6.) Add veggies and cook for about 2 minutes. Turn off the heat.

On your counter
1.) Chop up all ingredients (start with the veggies and put aside before chopping bacon to avoid cross-contamination)
4.) Crack eggs into a large bowl. Mix with a fork or whisk like you’re going to make scrambled eggs (but don’t scramble them!). Stir in the cheese and about a teaspoon of freshly ground black pepper (the pre-ground stuff doesn’t taste like anything. Don’t buy it.)
7.) Drain the pasta and transfer immediately* into the large bowl of eggs. Mix quickly to coat pasta evenly, adding the bacon/veggie mixture as well.
*It’s important to do this immediately because the heat from the pasta will cook the eggs!

8.) Serve with more grated cheese (and crushed red pepper if you like it spicy!)

Overall, I had a great weekend. Thanks for stopping by — make it a great day! 🙂

With love,
Tiffany R.
Dining at Tiffany’s

Leave a Reply

