Day 4 – $20.12: Cards with Words

I am very sorry that it took so long to continue with this series! I took a little break last weekend in light of the incidents on at Sandy Hook, and also because I was busy assisting my church’s musical director with our Christmas Musical.

Since we’re only a few days before Christmas, I promise the rest of the series will be procrastinator-friendly! 😉

DAY 4:
So I am on the internet ALL the time. Sometimes it can be a problem! But I can also see how the internet and social media can be used for good. This concept can be put into creative and inexpensive gift ideas:

~*On the 4th day of Christmas, Tiffany gave to me:
4 Cards with Words

Most days, the following conversation happens:
“Have you seen this video on YouTube? It’s hilarious/so good/so terrible!”

Why not turn this into a fun gift??

[1]
My good friend in Boston was thinking of a cheap idea for his office Secret Santa recipient as they had to do a daily treat leading up to the party. He said he likes Lord of the Rings, Star Wars, etc., so I suggested that he leave him a notecard with a shortened url to a funny related video!

Click for the LOTR video he used!

I love that he cut out a Christmas-tree shape! As most of us are now out of the office until Christmas (woohoo!), adding a shortened youtube link (he used bit.ly to do this) can elevate any greeting card to a more special level!

[2]
Next idea is using the same concept in snail mail! I made a card using Microsoft paint and will mail it to my best friend that lives in Irvine, inviting her to a meet-up (meal on me!) halfway between our cities!

The link goes here to Meet Me Halfway by Black Eyed Peas, hehe! 

[3]
The other two don’t require the internet, but are inexpensive and even sustainable ideas for personalized gifts!
This is going to get a little bit melancholy, but I wanted to share something: A few years ago (2010) a friend gave me a beautiful 12×12 calendar with really sweet poems about friendship. This individual and I aren’t really in touch anymore, unfortunately.

But instead of sadly throwing away the beautiful calendar, I actually started reusing the pages in gifts for new friends. I choose whichever poem reminds me of my friend the most and incorporated it into their Christmas gifts. Last year I used calendar pages as gift wrapping paper for small books. This year, I actually framed one of the pages for my new coworker and good friend. I went to Aaron Brother’s and got a very pretty frame for under $20.12. My coworker actually thought I bought this ready-made at the store!

One of my favorite song lyrics by Lauryn Hill is “develop a negative into a positive picture” from the song “Everything is Everything.” I always try to live by that and using this calendar is one of those ways. Perhaps you can too! Or at the very least, if you have a 2012 calendar that is about to become obsolete, consider ways that you can incorporate it into a gift. You get to save money and even do a little recycling!

[4]
The same can be done with old postcards, posters, etc. Just as we can change our attitude to see a negative situation a more positive light, adding a frame to an print always gives it a special focus.

Hope these ideas help! I’m happy to help out with ideas. Email me at diningattiffanys@gmail.com!

With love & Christmas cheer,
Tiffany R. 
Dining at Tiffany’s

PS: I got to Day 8:

8 Drinks for Sipping!
7 snacks for hiking
6 games for playing
5 wooden things
4 cards with words
3 simple words
2 penguin gloves
& a cutie from a citrus tree!

Leave a Reply

