2 Danger-Free, Last Minute Christmas Gifts

December somehow flew right past me this year! Tomorrow is Christmas Eve, but this month I did not engage in marathon Christmas shopping. I did not bake and wrap a single brownie or cookie in red and green cellophane. I did not curl a single ribbon.

It might of been because I spent the first week of December in Hawaii visiting my sister! Her marine husband is serving all the way in Afghanistan so my parents and I decided to keep her company for some early Christmas cheer.

While we were in Hawaii, the Food Network Iron Chef just happened to be filming a special episode on the Marine base where my sister lives. And guess what..


I met the Chairman from Iron Chef (yes, the guy who yells “Allez Cuisine!!”) and Alton freaking Brown! Iron Chef Morimoto and Iron Chef Simon did a Tailgate battle. I signed a contract so I can’t tell you who won. I guess you’ll just have to tune in to the Food Network in January! We also might be on TV. Woohoo!

The rest of the trip was full of delicious food, most of which was topped with pretty flowers, and accompanied with a side of pineapple. 🙂 
Now onto the Christmas gifts.. At this point, malls and department stores are scary, scary places. Don’t let the tall Christmas trees and holiday decor fool you. Shoppers are ferocious.

So this year, I came up with two danger-free gifts for under $20!

Know anyone who loves spicy food? Get them a hot sauce medley from around the world! Grocery stores are slightly less hazardous than the mall today. 😉

An Asian favorite — Sriracha is great in soups or with noodles.
Cholula and Tapatio are Mexican favorites, great with eggs and anything else that could use a Latin kick.

Frank’s Red Hot can be used on its own, or as a great starter for chicken wing sauce. And of course, the American classic Tabasco.

 

Got a loved one out of town? It’s actually not too late to mail a thoughtful gift! Year-long magazine subscriptions are always appreciated and show you care about their interests and leisure! You can do this online, without leaving home, and they don’t need to arrive until January!!

Most magazines offer an easy way to send the subscription as a gift. Send an e-card (try bluemountain or Hallmark.com) on Christmas to let the recipient know what’s coming!

So I hope this helps if you’re in a panic. Have a very Merry and blessed Christmas, everyone!!

With love,
Tiffany R.

One thought on “2 Danger-Free, Last Minute Christmas Gifts

Leave a comment